ASCC Clubs & Programs

 

Connect, build leadership skills and have fun!

Non-Discrimination Statement

Student clubs and programs must be open and available to any Clark student  regardless of race, color, national origin, age, perceived or actual physical or mental disability, pregnancy, genetic information, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, marital status, creed, religion, honorable discharged veteran or military status, or use of a trained guide dog or service animal.

Clubs

For more information contact: ASCC Club Coordinator at ascccc@clark.edu

Want to join a club? Check out these student-run groups below and contact them to find out what they’re doing and how you can participate.

Not seeing something you like and want to start your own group? It’s simple! Check out the Club Handbook for the easy steps to start your own club today!

Programs

For more information contact: ASCC Finance Director at asccfd@clark.edu

ASCC programs request funds annually through the S&A Fee Committee. These groups typically have pre-planned activities and some may require an audition or try-out to participate. If you’re interested, contact the ASCC Program Director to find out how to get involved.

Clubs and Programs List

A.C.E.S. (Alliance of Counseling Education Students) Club

Contact: 

 

Advisor: Dr. Marcia Roi

mroi@clark.edu

Purpose:

ACES club is dedicated to connecting students with the prevention, intervention, and recovery communities through volunteer efforts that inspire lifelong learning, advancement, knowledge, and healthy community partnerships.

Meetings: Wednesdays at 4pm in FHL 108

Active Minds Club

 

Contact: Angelic Gonzales

a.gonzales11@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Russell Crooks

rcrooks@clark.edu 

Purpose:

We believe no one should have to struggle alone. By empowering students to speak openly about mental health, we can reduce stigma, encourage seeking help and prevent suicides.

Meetings: Friday, March 6 at 12pm in HHL 101

Activities Programming Board (APB)

 

Contact:  (360) 992-2806

Program Director: Samantha Lelo

slelo@clark.edu

Purpose:

The APB provides a comprehensive events calendar to include 30+ enriching activities, educational lectures, family, social, awareness and diversity events to all students of Clark.

Meetings: Mondays at 10:00 am in PUB 160D

Aerospace

 

Contact: (360) 992-2469

Program Director: Sophie Lin

xlin@clark.edu 

Purpose:

This program provides students an opportuntity to participate in a team-based STEM experiencial project/aerospace design competition. Activities include the year-long design competition (such as NASA Student Launch), field trips to launch events, museums, and the University of Washington.

Meetings: Fridays at 4:00 pm in APH 111

Archer Gallery

 

Contact: (360) 992-2182

Program Director: Senseney Stokes 

sstokes@clark.edu

Purpose:

The Archer Gallery provides educational and cultural exhibitions at Clark College for students and the community.

Art Club

 

Contact: Jewel Indino

jewelindino@gmail.com 

Advisor: Sally Tomlinson

stomlinson@clark.edu 

Purpose:

To support artists and people who are interested in the arts. To build a community that emphasizes inclusivity and welcomes students who are interested in making friends and talking about art.

Meetings: Meeting times will be posted soon. Email the student contact directly.

Athletics

 

Contact: (360) 992-2268

Program Director: Laura Lemasters

llemasters@clark.edu 

Purpose:

This program provides support to the athletic programs at Clark College. Funds allocated to this program cover the costs of athletic insurance, tournament entry fees, officials, as well as training

CRU Club

 

Contact: Rachel-Ann Woolsey

r.woolsey@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Bridget Raach

braach@clark.edu 

Purpose:

CRU at Clark seeks to be a wholesome and encouraging community where students can gather together to study and discuss the word of God, the Bible. We also work to cultivate meaningful fellowship and to have fun in the process.

Meetings:

Mondays 11am in PUB 257

Tuesdays 8am in PUB 257

Clark Art Talks

 

Contact: (360) 992-2182

Program Director: Senseney Stokes

 sstokes@clark.edu

Purpose:

A monthly lecture series that invites artists to share their experiences and different artisitic techniques.

Columbia Writers Series

 

Contact: (360) 992-2161

Program Directors: 

James Finley
jfinley@clark.edu

Alexis Nelson
anelson@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program hosts professional writers--fiction, non-fiction, poets, playwrights, and screenwriters--to Clark College to  read from and discuss their work. This gives students an opportunity to meet, interact with, and learn from successful writers.

Comics Club

 

Contact: Isaac Carranza

i.carranza@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Tobias Peterson

tpeterson@clark.edu 

Purpose:

The comics club exists to foster interest in visual storytelling and helping students to farther their talents and enjoyment of in comic book appreciation.

Meetings: Wednesdays at 2pm in FAC 104

Counseling and Health Center

 

Contact: (360) 992-2614

Program Director: Cath Busha

cbusha@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program provides Clark Students with valuable advice, counseling, and treatment for health-related issues.

Engineering and Computer Science (ECS) Club

 

Contact: Malcolm Anderson

m.anderson39@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Izad Khormaee

ikhormaee@clark.edu

Purpose:

ECS Club promotes oportunities for Clark College students interested in Computer Science, Engineering and related fields through networking, projects, industry visits, service learning and community involvement.

Meetings: Meeting times will be posted soon. Email the student contact directly.

Clark Entrepreneur

 

Program Director: Nathan Webster

nwebster@clark.edu

Purpose:

To encourge and support entrepreneural ideas within students and allow them access to resources to help grow ideas to actual business ventures.

Environmental Action Club

 

Contact: Jillian McNeill

jillianm3@icloud3.com 

Advisor: Malcolm McCay

mmccay@clark.edu 

Purpose:

To provide community for anyone who loves the earth. Our goal is to raise awareness of effective necessary and simple strategies to combat climate change and reduce waste. We will cultivate a space in which everyone feels welcome and included, while we stand up for our planet and out future. 

Meetings: Tuesdays at 12pm in PUB 257

The Independent 

 

Contact: (360) 992-2972

Program Director: Beth Slovic

eslovic@clark.edu 

Purpose:

The Independent is Clark College's student news publication in print and online forms. It provides coverage of activities on and off campus to include athletics, instruction, facilities, administration, social issues and student government.

The Independent

Instrumental Music

 

Contact: (360) 992-2188

Program Director: Doug Harris

daharris@clark.edu  

Purpose:

This program provides a quality performance experience for all Clark students who wish to participate. Students have the opportunity to participate in Concert Band and Jazz Band.

Intramurals

 

Contact:  (360) 992-2302

Program Director: Ted Schatz

tschatz@clark.edu 

Purpose:

This program provides drop in and play formats and events that aim to serve students with recreational opportunities regardless of skill or ability. Opportunities include: basketball, soccer and volleyball.

Japanese Club

 

Contact: Yukaiya Nomoto

y.nomoto@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Michiyo Okuhara & Nami Inoue

mokuhara@clark.edu

ninoue@clark.edu 

Purpose:

To immerse students in authentic Japanese culture and to widen world culture view as well as get to know Japanese international students.

Meetings: Mondays at 2pm in HHL 120

Latinx Club

Contact: Diana Sanchez

D.sanchez-trejo@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Judith HernandezChapar

JHernandezchapar@clark.edu 

Purpose:

The purpose of the Latinx club is to have the opportunity to represent the Latinx community and create an open and safer space for all where we can get to know each other, discuss our roots and culture, build community, create a network of support, and form new friendships with our fellow peers.

Meetings: Meeting times will be posted soon. Email the student contact directly.

Model United Nations

 

Contact: (503) 929-0132

Program Director: Joe Cavalli

jcavalli@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program offers students a chance to participate in mock representation and delegations.

Multicultural Student Affairs

 

Contact: (360) 992-2837

Program Director: Melissa Williams

mewilliams@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program focuses on supporting diversity at Clark by providing support, services, and activities which foster a multicultural perspective.

Music Club

 

Contact: Ian Dimercurio

I.dimercurio@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Doug Harris

daharris@clark.edu 

Purpose:

Our purpose is to practice and preform music that falls outside of jazz or classical music.

Meetings: Meeting times will be posted soon. Email the student contact directly.

Orchestra

Contact: (360) 992-2195

Program Director: Don Appert

 dappert@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program provides students with an opportunity to participate in Orchestra concerts. Participation allows students to increase their musical skills, their knowledge of orchestral repertoire, and their own personal enrichment.

 

Outdoor & Recreation

 

Contact: (360) 992-2190

Program Director: Ted Schatz

 tschatz@clark.edu 

Purpose:

This program offers students an opportunity to experience outdoor and recreation activities. The program encourages personal growth through outdoor skills and volunteering by connecting the students with other students and professionals with a wide range of outdoor and recreation skill levels. Some of the activities will include: hiking, ice skating, kayaking, outdoor challenge courses, rock climbing, skiing, snowboarding, surfing, and white water rafting.

Pacific Islander Student Alliance Club

Contact: Charlotte Akimsea-Leitgeh

nakoaokalani@gmail.com 

Advisor: Kaina Barba

dbarba@clark.edu 

Purpose:

To support Pacific Islander Student Success through cultural enrichment and academic excellence.

Meetings: Meeting times will be posted soon. Email the student contact directly.

Pep Band

 

Contact: (360) 992-2188

Program Director: Doug Harris

daharris@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program provides students with an opportunity to participate in Pep Band and learn more about performance.

Phi Theta Kappa – Student Honor Society

 

Contact: (360) 992-2099

Program Director: Marcy Gilchrist

mgilchrist@clark.edu

Purpose:

The mission of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportuntities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service, and fellowship programming. engages in educational opportunities focusing on leadership, scholarship, fellowship, and service.

Meetings: Contact the program director.

Phoenix  - Student Literary Magazine

 

Contact: (360) 992-2305 or (360) 992-2639

Program Directors: 

Elizabeth Donley 
edonley@clark.edu

Kathrena Halsinger
khalsinger@clark.edu

Purpose:

The Phoenix is the student art and literary publication at Clark. Original student art and literature is compiled in the annual publication then distributed to the students.

Photography Club

 

Contact: Bryce Van Patten

contact@brycevanpatten.com 

Advisor: Robert Abrahamson

rabrahamson@clark.edu 

Purpose:

The goal to share and explore the world of photography. To help students and community through photo events, workshops, and events.

Meetings: Wednesdays at 4pm in FAC 105

Poppin' Penguins Club

Contact: Christina Starks

c.starks3@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Karla Steggall

ksteggall@clark.edu 

Purpose:

A chance for students to meet others while learning dance. We want to be a positive + supportive environment to learn different partner, swing, and line dances.

Meetings: Meeting times will be posted soon. Email the student contact directly.

Queer Penguins and Allies Club

 

Contact: Rebecca Strizver 

r.strizver@clark.edu 

Advisor: Tasha Robertson

trobertson@clark.edu

Purpose:

Queer Penguins and Allies is here to create community, educational opportunities, and awareness for Queer students and allies.

Meetings: Fridays at 3pm - 5pm in HHL 109

Realm Runners Club

 

Contact: Emily Skinner

 e.skinner3@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Eben Ayers

eayers@clark.edu

Purpose:

To provide an open and safe environment for all who enjoy tabletop/board/card games, as well as establish a place for people to converge and interacts with one another with one another with similar interests.

Meetings: Fridays at 12:00 pm in HHL 119

Re-Entry Club

 

Contact: Justin Laks

justintlaks@gmail.com 

Advisor: Angelica Pravettoni & Victoria Walters

apravettoni@clark.edu 

vwalters@clark.edu 

Purpose:

Support group for students that are ex-felons, have incarcerated family, or are just curious about the criminal life style most grew up in. Developing resources for returning citizens wanting to go to college. Inspirational speakers to go into prisons, jails, and juvenile detention centers as mentors.

Meetings: Fridays at 1:30pm in HHL 119

SADHA: Students of the American Dental Hygienists’ Association

 

Contact: (360) 992-2158

Program Director:  Kristi Taylor

 ktaylor@clark.edu

Purpose:

SADHA focuses on student professional development and community service through support of social, cultural, educational, and leadership experiences with the college campus, local community, and the National Dental Hygiene Association.

SNACC: Student Nursing Association of Clark College

 

Contact: (360) 992-6047

Program Director: Dianne Lucia

dlucia@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program promotes social activities and health-related service activities on and off-campus and provides an atmosphere that fosters life-long learning. Weekly meetings inform students of political trends in Nursing.

Spanish Club

 

Spanish Club

Contact: Christina Starks

c.starks3@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Felipe Montoya

fmontoya@clark.edu

Purpose:

To practice Spanish among not only members, but connect to both our Clark community, and Vancouver Spanish community. We want to organize events to connect and allow Clark students to get involved and experience new cultures. 

Meetings: Mondays and Wednesdays 8:30 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. in HKH 102 (Language and Writing Center)

STEM Nerd Girls

 

Contact:  (360) 992-2354 or (360) 992-2452

Program Directors:  

Tina Barsotti
cbarsotti@clark.edu

Carol Hsu
chsu@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program provides opportunities for diverse learners to achieve their educational goals through the practice of creative problem solving, competitions, and networking opportunities. By providing these opportunities the program encourages students to countinue their path in the STEM field.

Student Ambassadors

 

Contact: (360) 992-2770

Program Director: Amy Tam

atam@clark.edu

Purpose:

The Student Ambassador program is responsible for outreach to Clark College students through general information.

Student Government (ASCC)

 

Contact: (360) 992-2406

Program Director: Sarah Gruhler

sgruhler@clark.edu

Purpose:

Student Government is the Associated Students of Clark College (ASCC) which acts as a liaison between students, faculty, staff, administration and the community. They are charged with review and implementation of the ASCC Constitution and Bylaws, committee appointments, club promotions and approval, recruitment for student involvement and oversight of the services and activities (S&A) fees.

Student Government Meetings: Tuesdays at 3:30 pm in PUB 160D

Student Government Budget Meeting: TBD

Student Veterans of America Club

 

Contact: Rowan Coash

r.coash@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: James Powers

jpowers@clark.edu

Purpose:

Support and mentor fellow student veterans and ensure success in life and college.

Meetings: Tuesdays at 2pm in Veteran's Resource Center (PUB  0105)

Students for Life Club

 

Contact: Matthew Guiher

m.guiher@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Joan Elizabeth Etter

jetter@clark.edu

Purpose:

To educate students about our mission to abolish abortion.

Meetings:

Theatre

 

Contact: (360) 992-2346

Program Director: Gene Biby

 gbiby@clark.edu

Purpose:

The Theatre program provides Clark students with theatrical opportunities both on-stage and behind the scenes. The program offers three shows during the academic year, one during each quarter. These shows are chosen with student engagement in mind and typically consist of an American standard in the fall, a musical in the winter, and a contemporary work in the spring, offering a range of theatrical opportunities. 

Transitions Peer Mentors

 

Contact: (360) 992-2837

Program Director: Melissa Williams

mewilliams@clark.edu 

Purpose:

This program supports and provides services to student academic success as well as personal development. This program's specific goal is to mentor students and help them navigate through barriers as they transition into higher level coursework from basic education.

2020 Visionaries Club

Contact: Miguel Viveros Chavez

m.viveros-chavez@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Audrea Hagen

ahagen@clark.edu 

Purpose:

To bring together a community of students living with disabilities and their allies and create a safe space where empowerment, activism, and community engagement are strengthened and amplified. 

Meetings: Meeting times will be posted soon. Email the student contact directly.

Vocal Music

 

Contact: (360) 992-2245

Program Director:  Jacob Funk

jfunk@clark.edu

Purpose:

The Vocal Music program encompasses the Concert Choir, Women's Choral Ensemble, and Chorale. These groups provide all Clark College students who wish to participate with quality choral music performance experiences.

World Languages - Japanese

 

Contact: (360) 992-2977

Program Directors: Nami Inoue


ninoue@clark.edu 

Purpose:

The World Languages Program provides Clark College students with language immersion travel opportunities of varying lengths and costs in Spanish and Japanese speaking countries. Each program determines eligibility criteria for participation and most programs travel in the summer, but on an alternating basis.

World Languages - Spanish

 

Contact: (360) 992-2172

Program Director:  Erika Nava

enava@clark.edu

Purpose:

The World Languages Program provides Clark College students with language immersion travel opportunities of varying lengths and costs in Spanish and Japanese speaking countries. Each program determines eligibility criteria for participation and most programs travel in the summer, but on an alternating basis.