ASCC Clubs & Programs

 

Connect, build leadership skills and have fun!

Non-Discrimination Statement

Student clubs and programs must be open and available to any Clark student  regardless of race, color, national origin, age, perceived or actual physical or mental disability, pregnancy, genetic information, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, marital status, creed, religion, honorable discharged veteran or military status, or use of a trained guide dog or service animal.

Clubs

For more information contact: ASCC Club Coordinator at ascccc@clark.edu

Want to join a club? Check out these student-run groups below and contact them to find out what they’re doing and how you can participate.

Not seeing something you like and want to start your own group? It’s simple! Check out the Club Handbook for the easy steps to start your own club today!

Programs

For more information contact: ASCC Finance Director at asccfd@clark.edu

ASCC programs request funds annually through the S&A Fee Committee. These groups typically have pre-planned activities and some may require an audition or try-out to participate. If you’re interested, contact the ASCC Program Director to find out how to get involved.

Clubs and Programs List

A.C.E.S. (Addictions Counseling Education Students) Club

Contact: Kimberly Crapser

k.crasper@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Dr. Marcia Roi

mroi@clark.edu

Purpose:

Service work in and on campus working directly with other organizations to aid in the recovery community.

Meetings: Wednesdays at 4:00pm in FHL 108

Activities Programming Board (APB)

 

Contact:  (360) 992-2806

Program Director: Samantha Lelo

slelo@clark.edu

Purpose:

The APB provides a comprehensive events calendar to include 30+ enriching activities, educational lectures, family, social, awareness and diversity events to all students of Clark.

Meetings: Fridays 10:00am - 11:00am in PUB 160D

Aerospace

 

Contact: (360) 992-2569

Program Director: Keith Stansbury

kstansbury@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program provides students an opportuntity to participate in a team-based STEM experiencial project/aerospace design competition. Activities include the year-long design competition (such as NASA Student Launch), field trips to launch events, museums, and the University of Washington.

Archer Gallery

 

Contact: (360) 992-2182

Program Director: Senseney Stokes 

sstokes@clark.edu

Purpose:

The Archer Gallery provides educational and cultural exhibitions at Clark College for students and the community.

Art Club

 

Contact: Stephanie Hale

s.hale@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Grant Hottle

ghottle@clark.edu

Purpose:

To create an extracurricular community of artistic students who can help and support each other in artistic endeavors with a focus in the fine arts such as drawing, painting, digital work, art history, etc.

Meetings: Wednesdays 12:00pm - 1:00pm FAC 108

Signing Penguins (American Sign Language) Club

 

Contact: Kayla Beard

k.beard3@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Becky Engel & Sara Weiner-Collier

bengel@clark.edu

sweinercollier@clark.edu 

Purpose:

Signing Penguins Club will bring awareness to the Deaf and Hard of Hearing community, sign language, and deaf culture to the college community through activities, support, and FUN.

Meetings: Tuesdays at 12pm in PUB 257

Athletics

 

Contact: (360) 992-2259

Program Director: Chris Jacob

cjacob@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program provides support to the athletic programs at Clark College. Funds allocated to this program cover the costs of athletic insurance, tournament entry fees, officials, as well as training supplies 

CRU Club

 

Contact: Rachel-Ann Woolsey

r.woolsey@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Travis Garrison

tgarrison@clark.edu

Purpose:

To provide students an open place to study and discuss the bible and create oppurtunities for personal growth and encouragement.

Meetings: 
Thursdays at 8am - 9am in PUB 258A 

Chess Club

 

Contact: Nick Major

n.major@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Izad Khormaee

ikhormaee@clark.edu 

Purpose:

The Clark College Chess Club is an inclusive group dedicated to providing a space for chess enthusiasts to gather, learn, and share experiences. This club aims to facilitate strength in chess by providing lessons, instruction and guidelines to members interested in competing as well as providing a pass time.

Meetings: Fridays 3pm in FHL 108

Clark Art Talks

 

Contact: (360) 992-2182

Program Director: Senseney Stokes

 sstokes@clark.edu

Purpose:

Is a monthly lecture series that invites artists to share their experiences and different artisitic techniques.

Columbia Writers Series

 

Contact: (360) 992-2161

Program Directors: 

James Finley
jfinley@clark.edu

Alexis Nelson
anelson@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program provides hosts professional writers--fiction, non-fiction, poets, playwrights, and screenwriters--to Clark College to  read from and discuss their work. This gives students an opportunity to meet, interact with, and learn from successful writers.

Bold Colors Club

 

Contact: Vishal Nair

v.nair@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Melissa Williams

mewilliams@clark.edu 

Purpose:

Bold Colors is a club to provide a safer space for students of colors and their allies. This is an all inclusive club that will celebrate unity.

Meetings: Mondays  at 11am - 12pm in GHL 214 (Diversity Center)

Comics Club

 

Contact: Bryce Van Patten

contact@brycevanpatten.com 

Advisor: Tobias Peterson

tpeterson@clark.edu 

Purpose:

Clark College has a growing population of comic book fans and artist alike. The club is for aspiring student writers, artists, and fans to come together and share their love of comic books / graphic novels. We share ideas, give each other feedback on art, and plan to create a comic anthology for the 2018-2019 school year.

Meetings: Fridays at 3pm - 5pm in FAC 104

Counseling and Health Center

 

Contact: (360) 992-2401

Program Director:  Natalie Shank

nshank@clark.edu 

Purpose:

This program provides Clark Students with valuable advice, counseling, and treatment for health-related issues.

Engineering and Computer Science (ECS) Club

 

Contact: Jaydn Kuhn or Nhan Nguyen

j.kuhn3@students.clark.edu 

n.nguyen24@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Izad Khormaee

ikhormaee@clark.edu

Purpose:

ECS Club promotes oportunities for Clark College students interested in interested in Computer Science, Engineering and related fields through networking, projects, industry visits, service learning and community involvement.

Meetings: Fridays 12:00pm in SBG 126

Entrepreneur Club

 

Contact: Heather Leasure

h.leasure@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Nathan Webster

nwebster@clark.edu

Purpose:

To encourge and support entrepreneural ideas within students and allow them access to resources to help grow ideas to actual business ventures.

Meetings:
Contact the club representative

The Independent 

 

Contact: (360) 992-2972

Program Director: Beth Slovic

eslovic@clark.edu 

Purpose:

The Independent is Clark College's student news publication in print and online forms. It provides coverage of activities on and off campus to include athletics, instruction, facilities, administration, social issues and student government.

The Independent

Instrumental Music

 

Contact: (360) 992-2188

Program Director: Doug Harris

daharris@clark.edu   

Purpose:

This program provides a quality performance experience for all Clark students who wish to participate. Students have the opportunity to participate in Concert Band and Jazz Band.

Intramurals

 

Contact:  (360) 992-2185

Program Director: Travis Garrison

 tgarrison@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program provides structured sport leagues, tournaments, drop in and play formats, and events that aim to serve students with recreational opportunities regardless of skill or ability. Opportunities include: basketball, dodgeball, flag football, kickball, soccer and volleyball. Additional trips off campus such as rock climbing and kayaking are provided each quarter. 

Japanese Club

 

Contact: Blake Fry

b.fry2@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Michiyo Okuhara & Nami Inoue

mokuhara@clark.edu

ninoue@clark.edu 

Purpose:

To strengthen awareness and participation of Japanese and International culture and tradition through events and activities.

Meetings: Contact the Club Representative

Medical Billing and Coding Club

 

Contact: Nahid Fereshtehnejad

n.fereshtehnejad@students.clark.edu

Advisor: Suzanne Smith

scsmith@clark.edu 

Purpose:

Here to provide the gap between college and real-world knowledge, resources and tools to help students be sucessful, and facilitate networking at college level to enhance student ability to navigate post grad support system.

Meetings:

Dec. 6 at 2:30pm - 3:30pm in SHL 022

Model United Nations

 

Contact: (503) 929-0132

Program Director: Joe Cavalli

jcavalli@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program offers students a chance to participate in mock representation and delegations.

Multicultural Student Affairs

 

Contact: (360) 992-2289

Program Director: Rashida Willard

rwillard@clark.edu 

Purpose:

This program focuses on supporting diversity at Clark by providing support, services, and activities which foster a multicultural perspective.

Indigenous American Students Club

 

Contact: Chana Smith

c.smith74@students.clark.edu

Advisor: Kaina Barba

dbarba@clark.edu

Purpose:

Helping our fellow students achieve academic success while increasing traditional cultural awareness and community involvement. Open to all students.

Meetings: 

Fridays at 12:00pm Unity Pole

Orchestra

Contact: (360) 992-2195

Program Director: Don Appert

 dappert@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program provides students with an opportunity to participate in Orchestra concerts. Participation allows students to increase their musical skills, their knowledge of orchestral repertoire, and their own personal enrichment.

 

Outdoor & Recreation

 

Contact: (360) 992-2190

Program Director: Ted Schatz

 tschatz@clark.edu 

Purpose:

This program offers students an opportunity to experience outdoor and recreation activities. The program encourages personal growth through outdoor skills and volunteering by connecting the students with other students and professionals with a wide range of outdoor and recreation skill levels. Some of the activities will include: hiking, ice skating, kayaking, outdoor challenge courses, rock climbing, skiing, snowboarding, surfing, and white water rafting.

Meetings: Contact the program director

Pep Band

 

Contact: (360) 992-2188

Program Director: Doug Harris

daharris@clark.edu  

Purpose:

This program provides students with an opportunity to participate in Pep Band and learn more about performance.

Philosophy Club

Contact: Zachary Sandoval

z.sandoval@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Michael Pankrast

mpankrast@clark.edu 

Purpose:

To discuss philosophical ideas and concepts within Clark College and the local community through dialogue and media analysis.

Meetings: Contact the club representative

Phi Theta Kappa – Student Honor Society

 

Contact: (360) 992-2678

Program Director: Shannon Jackson

smjackson@clark.edu

Purpose:

The mission of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportuntities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service, and fellowship programming. engages in educational opportunities focusing on leadership, scholarship, fellowship, and service.

Meetings: Contact the program director

Phoenix  - Student Literary Magazine

 

Contact: (360) 992-2305 or (360) 992-2639

Program Directors: 

Elizabeth Donley 
edonley@clark.edu

Kathrena Halsinger
khalsinger@clark.edu

Purpose:

The Phoenix is the student art and literary publication at Clark. Original student art and literature is compiled in the annual publication then distributed fo the students.

Photography Club

 

Contact: Tofik Ahmed Khan

t.khan@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Robert Abrahamson

rabrahamson@clark.edu 

Purpose:

Introduce Clark College Students to various forms and techniques of slim and digital photography regardless of prior experience or future expectations in art. To provide a fun and interactive place for students of different majors and walks of life in order to bring them together in a constructive and creative environment.

Meetings: Fridays 11:00am - 12:00pm FAC 105

Poppin' Penguins Club

Contact: Christina May Starks

c.starks3@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Karla Steggall

ksteggall@clark.edu

Purpose:

To bring together students who love to dance East Coast Swing in a positive, supportive environment where they can learn, practice, and connect with one another.

Meetings: Tuesdays and Thursdays at 1pm in OSC 135

Penguin Tennis Club

Contact: Matt Wheatley

m.wheatley2@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Jenny Pizot

jpizot@clark.edu 

Purpose:

The Penguin Tennis Club is open to all Clark College students. If you are learning the game for the first time or are an experienced player, then there's a spot for you! We have weekly practice that is run by a USPTA certified professional at an indoor facility.

Meetings: Contact the club representative

Queer Penguins and Allies Club

 

Contact: Channell R.S. Star

c.sugar-star@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Flyn Alexander

falexander@clark.edu

Purpose:

Queer Penguins and Allies is here to create community, educational opportunities, and awareness for Queer students and allies.

Meetings: Fridays at 3:00pm in PUB 162 

Realm Runners Club

 

Contact: Justin Flint

j.flint@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Eben Ayers

eayers@clark.edu

Purpose:

To provide an inclusive environment for all students to enjoy all aspects of nerd culture.

Meetings:
Fridays at 12:00pm - 12:45pm in PUB 257

Running Club

 

Contact: Graham Gingras

g.gingras@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: David Caldwell

dcaldwell@clark.edu 

Purpose:

This club provides students of all abilities opportunity to run throughout the year.

Meetings: Contact the club representative for meeting location
Wednesdays 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Fridays 1:00pm - 2:00pm

SADHA: Students of the American Dental Hygienists’ Association

 

Contact: (360) 992-2158

Program Director:  Kristi Taylor

 ktaylor@clark.edu

Purpose:

SADHA focuses on student professional development and community service through support of social, cultural, educational, and leadership experiences with the college campus, local community, and the National Dental Hygiene Association.

SNACC: Student Nursing Association of Clark College

 

Contact: (360) 992-6047

Program Director: Dianne Lucia

dlucia@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program promotes social activities and health-related service activities on and off-campus and provides an atmosphere that fosters life-long learning. Weekly meetings inform students of political trends in Nursing.

Spanish Club

 

Spanish Club

Contact: Julie Lopez

j.lopez25@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Felipe Montoya

fmontoya@clark.edu

Purpose:

To support learning by providing opportunities for all students invested in the Spanish language and culture. The club also fosters leadership, camaraderie, and life long experience.

Meetings: Contact the club representative.

STEM Nerd Girls

 

Contact:  (360) 992-2354 or (360) 992-2452

Program Directors:  

Tina Barsotti
cbarsotti@clark.edu

Carol Hsu
chsu@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program provides opportunities for diverse learners to achieve their educational goals through the practice of creative problem solving, competitions, and networking opportunities. By providing these opportunities the program encourages students to countinue their path in the STEM field.

Meetings: Contact the program director.

Student Ambassadors

 

Contact: (360) 992-2770

Program Director: Amy Tam

atam@clark.edu

Purpose:

The Student Ambassador program is responsible for outreach to Clark College students through general information.

Student Government (ASCC)

 

Contact: (360) 992-2406

Program Director: Sarah Gruhler

sgruhler@clark.edu

Purpose:

Student Government is the Associated Students of Clark College (ASCC) which acts as a liaison between students, faculty, staff, administration and the community. They are charged with review and implementation of the ASCC Constitution and Bylaws, committee appointments, club promotions and approval, recruitment for student involvement and oversight of the services and activities (S&A) fees.

Meetings: Every Thursday in PUB 160D

Student Government 12:30pm - 1:30pm

Student Government Budget Meeting 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Student Veterans of America Club

 

Contact: Erik Martinez

e.martinez10@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: James Powers

jpowers@clark.edu

Purpose:

To provide Clark students with an additional resource that supports academic success to veterans and affiliated students.

Meetings: Fridays at 12:00pm in PUB 015

Students for Life Club

 

Contact: Matthew Guiher

m.guiher@students.clark.edu 

Advisor: Joan Elizabeth Etter

jetter@clark.edu

Purpose:

To educate students about our mission to abolish abortion.

Meetings: Tuesdays at 11:30am - 12:30pm in PUB 162

Theatre

 

Contact: (360) 992-2346

Program Director: Gene Biby

 gbiby@clark.edu

Purpose:

The Theatre program provides Clark students with theatrical opportunities both on-stage and behind the scenes. The program offers three shows during the academic year, one during each quarter. These shows are chosen with student engagement in mind and typically consist of an American standard in the fall, a musical in the winter, and a contemporary work in the spring, offering a range of theatrical opportunities. 

Transitions Peer Mentors

 

Contact: (360) 992-2618

Program Director: Janette Clay

 jclay@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program supports and provides services to student academic success as well as personal development. This program's specific goal is to mentor students and help them navigate through barriers as they transition into higher level coursework from basic education.

Vocal Music

 

Contact: (360) 992-2245

Program Director:  Jacob Funk

jfunk@clark.edu

Purpose:

The Vocal Music program encompasses the Concert Choir, Women's Choral Ensemble, and Chorale. These groups provide all Clark College students who wish to participate with quality choral music performance experiences.

World Languages - Japanese

 

Contact: (360) 992-2977

Program Directors: Nami Inoue


ninoue@clark.edu 

Purpose:

The World Languages Program provides Clark College students with language immersion travel opportunities of varying lengths and costs in Spanish and Japanese speaking countries. Each program determines eligibility criteria for participation and most programs travel in the summer, but on an alternating basis.

World Languages - Spanish

 

Contact: (360) 992-2172

Program Director:  Felipe Montoya

fmontoya@clark.edu 

Purpose:

The World Languages Program provides Clark College students with language immersion travel opportunities of varying lengths and costs in Spanish and Japanese speaking countries. Each program determines eligibility criteria for participation and most programs travel in the summer, but on an alternating basis.