ASCC Clubs & Programs

 

Connect, build leadership skills and have fun!

Non-Discrimination Statement

Student clubs and programs must be open and available to any Clark student regardless of race, color, national origin, age, perceived or actual physical or mental disability, pregnancy, genetic information, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, marital status, creed, religion, honorable discharged veteran or military status, or use of a trained guide dog or service animal.

Clubs

For more information contact: ASCC Club Coordinator at ascccc@clark.edu

Want to join a club? Check out these student-run groups below and contact them to find out what they’re doing and how you can participate.

Not seeing something you like and want to start your own group? It’s simple! Check out the Club Handbook for the easy steps to start your own club today!

Programs

For more information contact: ASCC Finance Director at asccfd@clark.edu

ASCC programs request funds annually through the S&A Fee Committee. These groups typically have pre-planned activities and some may require an audition or try-out to participate. If you’re interested, contact the ASCC Program Director to find out how to get involved.

Clubs and Programs List

A.C.E.S. (Addictions Counseling Education Students) Club

Contact: Norman Johnson

n.johnson23@students.clark.edu

Advisor: Dr. Marcia Roi

mroi@clark.edu

Purpose:

A.C.E.S. Addiction Counseling Eductation Students Club will represent Clark College in the addiction, prevention, and recovery community. The club is open to all students who wish to participate in making Clark County and Clark College safe from addiction and assist with prevention efforts. It provides networking and volunteer opportunities in the recovery community.

Meetings: Contact the student representative

Activities Programming Board (APB)

 

Contact:  (360) 992-2806

Program Director: Samantha Lelo

slelo@clark.edu

Purpose:

The APB provides a comprehensive events calendar to include 30+ enriching activities, educational lectures, family, social, awareness and diversity events to all students of Clark.

Meetings: Mondays at 4:00pm in PUB 160D

Aerospace

 

Contact: (360) 992-2569

Program Director: Keith Stansbury

kstansbury@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program provides students an opportuntity to participate in a team-based STEM experiencial project/aerospace design competition. Activities include the year-long design competition (such as NASA Student Launch), field trips to launch events, museums, and the University of Washington.

 

Archer Gallery

 

Contact: (360) 992-2182

Program Director: Senseney Stokes 

sstokes@clark.edu

Purpose:

The Archer Gallery provides educational and cultural exhibitions at Clark College for students and the community.

 

Art Club

 

Contact: Krystal Maldanado

 k.maldpnadp3@students.clark.edu

Advisor: Grant Hottle

ghottle@clark.edu

Purpose:

Art club serves to devote a time and place for art passionate people to meet and share ideas, as well as seek club members' advice on all their art related projects.

Meetings: Tuesdays at 12:00pm in FAC 108

Athletics

 

Contact: (360) 992-2259

Program Director: Chris Jacob

cjacob@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program provides support to the athletic programs at Clark College. Funds allocated to this program cover the costs of athletic insurance, tournament entry fees, officials, as well as training supplies 

CRU Club

 

Contact: Nathan Boudon

n.boudon@students.clark.edu

Advisor: Travis Garrison

tgarrison@clark.edu

Purpose:

CRU is a community that is focused on seeking God and building each other up in wisdom and knowledge of Christ.

Meetings: Fridays, 10:00am - 12:00pm in GHL 207

Clark Art Talks

 

Contact: (360) 992-2182

Program Director: Senseney Stokes

 sstokes@clark.edu

Purpose:

Is a monthly lecture series that invites artists to share their experiences and different artisitic techniques.

Columbia Writers Series

 

Contact: (360) 992-2161

Program Directors: 

James Finley
jfinley@clark.edu

Alexis Nelson
anelson@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program provides hosts professional writers--fiction, non-fiction, poets, playwrights, and screenwriters--to Clark College to  read from and discuss their work. This gives students an opportunity to meet, interact with, and learn from successful writers.

Engineering and Computer Science Club

 

Contact: Richard Wu

r.wu@students.clark.edu

Advisor: Izad Khormaee

ikhormaee@clark.edu

Purpose:

Get students involved in Engeineering and Computer Science projects, as well as provide opportunities for students to network with professionals.

Meetings: Contact the student representative

Entrepreneur Club

 

Contact: Kerry Blake

k.blake4@students.clark.edu

Advisor: Nathan Webster

nwebster@clark.edu

Purpose:

This clus is meant to bridge the gap between being in school and the business world. We want to connect Vancouver businesses with students, help get internships, and make our students feel comfortable in the community.

Meetings: Tuesdays Nov. 21 & Dec. 5 at 12:30pm in SHL 214

Graphic Design Club

 

Contact: Emmanuel Jefferies

clarkgdclub@gmail.com

Advisor: Kathrena Halsinger

khalsinger@clark.edu

Purpose:

To provide encouragement, team support, and opportunities to students who are looking to pursue on education or career related to graphic design.

Meetings: Wednesdays, 2:00pm - 3:00pm in FAC 103

Guitar Club

 

Contact: Diane Hurst

d.hurst6@students.clark.edu

Advisor: James Manuele

jmanuel@clark.edu

Purpose:

A place to play with other guitar players and learn more.

Meetings: Contact the student representative

Harambee Black Student Union Club

 

Contact: Ndeye Astou CISSE

n.cisse@students.clark.edu

Advisor: Rashida Willard

rwillard@clark.edu

Purpose:

The black student union of Clark College is a safe and open space for black, multiracial african decent, systematically non-dominant and supporting students to come together through culture, education, diversity, and various activities.

 

Meetings: Fridays, 4:00pm - 6:00pm in PUB 257

The Independent 

 

Contact: (360) 992-2972

Program Director: Dee Anne Finken

dfinken@clark.edu

Purpose:

The Independent is Clark College's student news publication in print and online forms. It provides coverage of activities on and off campus to include athletics, instruction, facilities, administration, social issues and student government.

The Independent

Instrumental Music

 

Contact: (360) 992-2188

Program Director: Rich Inouye

 rinouye@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program provides a quality performance experience for all Clark students who wish to participate. Students have the opportunity to participate in Concert Band and Jazz Band.

International Club

 

Contact: Jennifer Bui

t.bui10@students.clark.edu

Advisor: Jane Walster

jwalster@clark.edu

Purpose:

Learning about other cultures and values as well as appreciating diversity in our society.

Meetings: Contact the student representative

Intramurals

 

Contact:  (360) 992-2185

Program Director: Travis Garrison

 tgarrison@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program provides structured sport leagues, tournaments, drop in and play formats, and events that aim to serve students with recreational opportunities regardless of skill or ability. Opportunities include: basketball, dodgeball, flag football, kickball, soccer and volleyball. Additional trips off campus such as rock climbing and kayaking are provided each quarter. 

Japanese Cultural Club

 

Contact: Sophie Steele

s.steele4@students.clark.edu

Advisor: Michiyo Okuhara

mokuhara@clark.edu

Purpose:

To explore the vast elements of Japanese culture.

Meetings: Thursdays, 1:00pm - 2:00pm in JSH 115

Mechanerds - Mechatronics Club

 

Contact: Monte Gantka

m.gantka@students.clark.edu

Advisor: Ken Luchini & Anne Koering

kluchini@clark.edu

akoering@clark.edu

Purpose:

To pursue knowledge and experiences in the field of mechatronics.

Meetings: Fridays, 11:00am - 1:00pm in CTC 106

Medical Billing and Coding Club

 

Contact: Nahid Fereshtehnejad

n.fereshtehnejad@students.clark.edu

Advisor: Sunnie Elhart

selhart@clark.edu

Purpose:

To inform students entering into the field of medical billing and coding profession about all their available resources, on and off campus.

Meetings: Contact the student representative

Model United Nations

 

Contact: (503) 929-0132

Program Director: Joe Cavalli

jcavalli@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program offers students a chance to participate in mock representation and delegations.

Multicultural Student Affairs

 

Contact: (360) 992-2757

Program Director: Loretta Capeheart

 lcapeheart@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program focuses on supporting diversity at Clark by providing support, services, and activities which foster a multicultural perspective.

Native American Culture Club

 

Contact: Chana Smith

c.smith74@students.clark.edu

Advisor: Kaina Barba

dbarba@clark.edu

Purpose:

Building a support network for North American Indigenous students and offering a variety of activities and events that broaden the understanding of American Indian/Alaska Native culture, values, and traditions campus wide.

Meetings: Wednesdays at 1:30pm - 2:30pm outside the Diversity Center GHL 214

Orchestra

Contact: (360) 992-2195

Program Director: Don Appert

 dappert@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program provides students with an opportunity to participate in Orchestra concerts. Participation allows students to increase their musical skills, their knowledge of orchestral repertoire, and their own personal enrichment.

 

Outdoor & Recreation

 

Contact: (360) 992-7467

Program Director: Dave Caldwell

 dcaldwell@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program offers students an opportunity to experience outdoor and recreation activities. The program encourages personal growth through outdoor skills and volunteering by connecting the students with other students and professionals with a wide range of outdoor and recreation skill levels. Some of the activities will include: hiking, ice skating, kayaking, outdoor challenge courses, rock climbing, skiing, snowboarding, surfing, and white water rafting.

Penguin Deaf Club

 

Contact: Maddie Forbes

m.forbes2@students.clark.edu

Advisor: Sarah Weiner-Collier

sweinercollier@clark.edu

Purpose:

The Penguins Deaf Club (PDC) will bring awareness of the deaf and hard of hearing community, American Sign Language and deaf culture to the College community through activities, support and fun!

Meetings: Contact the student representative

Pep Band

 

Contact: (360) 992-2188

Program Director: Rich Inouye

 rinouye@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program provides students with an opportunity to participate in Pep Band and learn more about performance.

Phi Theta Kappa – Student Honor Society

 

Contact: (360) 992-2681

Program Director: Mark Magdaleno

mmagdaleno@clark.edu

Purpose:

The mission of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportuntities for individual growth and development through participation in honors, leadership, service, and fellowship programming. engages in educational opportunities focusing on leadership, scholarship, fellowship, and service.

Phoenix  - Student Literary Magazine

 

Contact: (360) 992-2305 or (360) 992-2639

Program Directors: 

Elizabeth Donley 
edonley@clark.edu

Kathrena Halsinger
khalsinger@clark.edu

Purpose:

The Phoenix is the student art and literary publication at Clark. Original student art and literature is compiled in the annual publication then distributed fo the students.

Queer Student Association Club

 

Contact: Jocylin Binkier

j.binkier@students.clark.edu

Advisor: Flyn Alexander

falexander@clark.edu

Purpose:

Queer Student Association strives to provide a safer space for Queer students to create community, promote visibility, and provide support and education to the College community and beyond.

Meetings: Fridays, 3:00pm - 5:00pm in PUB 258A (Except for Dec. 8)

Realm Runners Club

 

Contact: White-Wolf Whittington

w.whittington@students.clark.edu

Advisor: Eben Ayers

eayers@clark.edu

Purpose:

To provide an inclusive environment for all students that are into card games, role playing games, and anime.

Meetings: Fridays, 11:00am - 12:00pm in PUB 257

SADHA: Students of the American Dental Hygienists’ Association

 

Contact: (360) 992-2158

Program Director:  Kristi Taylor

 ktaylor@clark.edu

Purpose:

SADHA focuses on student professional development and community service through support of social, cultural, educational, and leadership experiences with the college campus, local community, and the National Dental Hygiene Association.

SNACC: Student Nursing Association of Clark College

 

Contact: (360) 992-6047

Program Director: Dianne Lucia

dlucia@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program promotes social activities and health-related service activities on and off-campus and provides an atmosphere that fosters life-long learning. Weekly meetings inform students of political trends in Nursing.

Spanish Club

 

Spanish Club

Contact: Patrio Tanner

ptelvis8@gmail.com 

Advisor: Felipe Montoya

fmontoya@clark.edu

Purpose:

To support learning by providing opportunities for all students invested in the Spanish language and culture. The club also fosters leadership, camaraderie, and life-long experiences.

Meetings: Contact the student representative

STEM Nerd Girls

 

Contact:  (360) 992-2354 or (360) 992-2452

Program Directors:  

Tina Barsotti
cbarsotti@clark.edu

Carol Hsu
chsu@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program provides opportunities for diverse learners to achieve their educational goals through the practice of creative problem solving, competitions, and networking opportunities. By providing these opportunities the program encourages students to countinue their path in the STEM field.

Student Ambassadors

 

Contact: (360) 992-2770

Program Director: Amy Tam

atam@clark.edu

Purpose:

The Student Ambassador program is responsible for outreach to Clark College students through general information.

Student Government (ASCC)

 

Contact: (360) 992-2406

Program Director: Sarah Gruhler

sgruhler@clark.edu

Purpose:

Student Government is the Associated Students of Clark College (ASCC) which acts as a liaison between students, faculty, staff, administration and the community. They are charged with review and implementation of the ASCC Constitution and Bylaws, committee appointments, club promotions and approval, recruitment for student involvement and oversight of the services and activities (S&A) fees.

Student Veterans of America Club

 

Contact: Tamara Elam

clarkSVA@gmail.com

Advisor: James Ron Powers

jpowers@clark.edu

Purpose:

To provide veterans and supporters with the resources and advocacy needed to succeed in meeting their academic and ultimately personal and professional goals.

Meetings: Contact the student representative

Students for Life Club

 

Contact: John Paul Scheese

j.scheese@students.clark.edu

Advisor: Joan Elizabeth Etter

jetter@clark.edu

Purpose:

To illuminate and instill the dignity of human life from conception until natural death, by our example and witness to the pro-life movement.

Meetings: Thursdays at 2:30pm in PUB 257

Super Smash Bros Melee Club

 

Contact: Christopher Rutledge

c.rutledge@students.clark.edu

Advisor: Eben Ayers

eayers@clark.edu

Purpose:

Provide an outlet for aspiring competitive players to meet and compete with each other, as well as welcome new players to come and improve.

Meetings: Wednesdays, 4:00pm - 6:30pm in PUB 258A

Theatre

 

Contact: (360) 992-2346

Program Director: Gene Biby

 gbiby@clark.edu

Purpose:

The Theatre program provides Clark students with theatrical opportunities both on-stage and behind the scenes. The program offers three shows during the academic year, one during each quarter. These shows are chosen with student engagement in mind and typically consist of an American standard in the fall, a musical in the winter, and a contemporary work in the spring, offering a range of theatrical opportunities. 

Transitions Peer Mentors

 

Contact: (360) 992-2618

Program Director: Janette Clay

 jclay@clark.edu

Purpose:

This program supports and provides services to student academic success as well as personal development. This program's specific goal is to mentor students and help them navigate through barriers as they transition into higher level coursework from basic education.

Vocal Music

 

Contact: (360) 992-2245

Program Director:  Jacob Funk

jfunk@clark.edu

Purpose:

The Vocal Music program encompasses the Concert Choir, Women's Choral Ensemble, and Chorale. These groups provide all Clark College students who wish to participate with quality choral music performance experiences.

World Languages - Japanese

 

Contact: (360) 992-2977

Program Directors:

Michiyo Okuhara
mokuhara@clark.edu

Yoko Sato
ysato@clark.edu

Purpose:

The World Languages Program provides Clark College students with language immersion travel opportunities of varying lengths and costs in Spanish and Japanese speaking countries. Each program determines eligibility criteria for participation and most programs travel in the summer, but on an alternating basis.

World Languages - Spanish

 

Contact: (360) 992-2172

Program Director:  Erika Nava

enava@clark.edu

Purpose:

The World Languages Program provides Clark College students with language immersion travel opportunities of varying lengths and costs in Spanish and Japanese speaking countries. Each program determines eligibility criteria for participation and most programs travel in the summer, but on an alternating basis.