Exceptional Faculty Awards

The Clark College Exceptional Faculty Awards are presented annually to full-time and part-time faculty members. Nominations can be submitted by Clark College students, faculty, classified employees, administrators, alumni, Board members, and Foundation directors. Students are particularly encouraged to submit nominations.  

Full and part-time faculty members are eligible for the award -- this includes instructors, librarians, counselors, and department heads -- as long as they have not received the award in the past four years. Members of the Exceptional Faculty Awards Committee will not be eligible. See below for a list of past winners and current committee members.

Congratulations to the 2022-2023 Exceptional Faculty Award Recipients!

Clark College’s 2022-2023 Exceptional Faculty Award recipients are Dan Alberghetti, Earl Frederick, Dr. Jacob Funk, Rebecca Herman, Dr. Julian Nelson, and Michiyo Okuhara. → Read more about the recipients.

Past Exceptional Faculty Award Recipients

Clark College is proud to honor the full-time and part-time faculty members who have received this prestigious award.  → Visit our archives to learn about past recipients.


Dr. Amy Castellano, Professor of Phlebotomy
Steven Clark, Professor of Biology
Erielle Lamb, Professor of Surveying & Geomatics 
Luanne Lundberg, Professor of Career & Academic Prep
Gail Robinson, Professor of English
Kathryn Anastasi, Librarian


Kayoko Barnhill, Professor of Mathematics
Tony Chennault, Professor of Biology
Nami Inoue, Professor of Japanese 
Michelle Mallory, Professor of Early Childhood Education
Joshua Patrick, Professor of English
Kristi Taylor, Professor of Dental Hygiene


Dr. Don Appert, Professor of Music
Adam Coleman, Professor of Computer Technology
Molly Lampros, Professor of Communication Studies
Ken Luchini, Professor of Mechatronics
Thomas Stevenson, Professor of Communication Studies
Lauren Zavrel, Professor of Adult Basic Education at Larch Corrections Center


Deena Godwin, Communication Studies 
Erin Staples, Health and Physical Education
Dr. Karl Bailey, Chemistry
Malcolm McCay, Economics
Nadine Fattaleh, Chemistry
Zachary Grant, Librarian


Exceptional Faculty Award Committee:

Kathryn Anastasi (CLASS)
Karl Bailey, Chair (STEM)
Kushlani de Soyza (SOFA)
Bruce Elgort (WPTE)
Sara Gallow (BEECH)
Layne Russell (BUS/HS)
Heidi Summers (AVP Designee)


The awards are made possible through an endowed trust fund established by the Washington State Legislature and the Clark College Exceptional Faculty Endowment Fund, which was established in 1993. That fund provides recognition of exemplary work performance, positive impact on students, professional commitment, and other contributions to the college.