Jazz Festival Sweepstakes Winners

last years winners receiving trophy

We are proud to recognize the winners of the coveted The Dale Beacock Memorial Sweepstakes Award!

One of our most exciting traditions at the Clark College Jazz Festival is the presentation of the celebrated Sweepstakes Award. The Sweepstakes Award originated in 1963 to recognize the most outstanding band selected by the adjudicators from the entire festival. The winning ensemble remains that year's Sweepstakes Band until the next festival when they in turn, pass on the title and distinctive trophy to the next year's recipient.

Along with the distinction of being recognized as the top band from the entire festival, the Sweepstakes Band will return as the showcased group to perform on a non-competitive basis on the final evening of the finals competition.

In 2024, our panel of adjudicators awarded the Dale Beacock Memorial Sweepstakes Award to Bothell High School Jazz Band I.  We look forward to hearing this band perform on the final evening concert next year at the 2025 61st Annual Clark College Jazz Festival! 

2024 Results

Past sweepstakes award recipients since 2000

2024-Bothell I
2023-Mountain View Jazz I
2022-No Festival due to COVID-19
2021-No Festival due to COVID-19
2020-Battle Ground High School Advanced Band
2019-Roosevelt High School Jazz I
2018-Mead High School Jazz Band I
2017-Garfield High School
2016-Battle Ground High School Advanced Band
2015-Mountain View High School    
2014–Garfield High School
2013–Roosevelt High School I
2012–Mt. View High School
2011–Roosevelt High School
2010–Garfield High School
2009–Roosevelt High School
2008–Roosevelt High School–Jazz Band II
2007–Mountlake Terrace High School
2006–Garfield High School
2005–Roosevelt High School
2004–Garfield High School
2003–Roosevelt High School
2002–Garfield High School
2001–Newport High School
2000–Garfield High School