Columbia Writers Series

Benjamin Percy reads at the Columbia Writers Series

Wells Tower Reads at the Columbia Writers Series

"The Columbia Writers Series is designed to bring writers–whether they are fiction or nonfiction writers, poets, playwrights, or screenwriters–to the college," said Finley. "We not only bring diverse voices to campus, but we recognize the work of Clark's own faculty authors as well."

"Having a strong writers' series enriches the life of any college," said Finley. "Part of the mission of any college is to provide a culture where literature and the arts have a place in our lives–and to recognize that it's not just ornamentation, but that people make their living doing this work."

Writers who have visited Clark College through the series include Ursula Le Guin, Donald Justice, Sherman Alexie, Marvin Bell, William Stafford, Jamaica Kincaid, Roy Blount Jr., Gerald Stern, Carolyn Forchè, Diane Wakoski, Monica Drake and retired Clark faculty member Larry Weirather.