About Clark

Celebrating a Diamond Jubilee: 
Clark College's 75th Anniversary

75th anniversary logo

What better way to celebrate 75 years than with 75 hours of great events!  Mark your calendars now...

According to the 1936 Galapagon yearbook, Clark College opened on October 1, 1933.  Classes began on Monday, October 2 in the Hidden House in downtown Vancouver at what was then called Vancouver Junior College.  They were among the first steps in the college's history.

Clark College history includes 13 men and women who have served as dean or president since the earliest days of the college.

Since the earliest days of the college, students, faculty and staff have embraced their beloved penguin mascot, Oswald.  In 2007, Clark President Bob Knight declared Clark College to be "The Penguin Nation."

Clark's 75th anniversary celebration

On October 1, 2008, the college will launch a yearlong celebration marking the college's 75th anniversary. 

The theme of the diamond jubilee is:  "Preserve the past.  Honor the present.  Embrace the future."

Clark's 75th anniversary:  Our honorary steering committee

An impressive list of regional and state dignitaries are serving on the honorary steering committee for the college's diamond jubilee.  

Robert K. Knight President, Clark College
Sherry Parker Chair, Clark College Board of Trustees
Tony Bacon

Editor, The Daily Insider

Brian Baird Congressman, 3rd Congressional District
Twyla Barnes Superintendent, ESD #112
Al Bauer

State Senator (retired),
12th Legislative District

Mitch Bower past member, Clark College Board of Trustees
Scott Campbell

President & Publisher, The Columbian; member, Clark College Foundation Board

Roger Daniels

past Director of Student Programs, Athletics and Recruitment, Clark College

Bruce Davidson Chair, Clark College Foundation Board
John Deeder Superintendent, Evergreen School District
Dr. Lynn Degerstedt past Director, Southwest Washington Joint Center for Education
Dr. Hal Dengerink Chancellor, Washington State University Vancouver
Robert Dingethal Regional Director, office of Senator Maria Cantwell
Ellis F. Dunn past Interim President, Clark College
Charles Earl Executive Director, Washington State Board for Community & Technical Colleges
John Erickson past Superintendent, Vancouver School District
Bill Fromhold State Representative, 49th Legislative District
Schuyler Hoss SW Washington Public Liaison Officer, Office of the Governor
Leann Johnson Director for Equity & Diversity, Clark College
Val Joshua President Emeritus, Vancouver Chapter, N.A.A.C.P.
Scott Keeney President & CEO, nLight Photonics
Kathy Kniep Executive Director, YWCA Clark County
Tom Koenninger Editor Emeritus, The Columbian; chair, Washington State Board for Community & Technical Colleges
Joseph F. Kortum President & CEO, Southwest Washington Medical Center
Mindi Linquist District Representative, office of Senator Maria Cantwell
Ed Lynch Chairman, Identity Clark County
John Marshall member, Clark College Alumni Association Board
John McDonagh Publisher, Vancouver Business Journal
Patrick Mehigan President, Associated Students of Clark College
Roger Michaelis President & CEO, iQ Credit Union
Betty Sue Morris Clark County Commissioner
Bob Moser past Director of Public Relations, Alumni Affairs, Student Programs and College Advancement, Clark College
Dan Ogden Faculty Emeritus, WSU Pullman
Val Ogden State Representative (retired), 49th Legislative District
Jan Oliva member, Clark College Foundation Board
Bart Phillips President, Columbia River Economic Development Council
Royce Pollard Mayor, City of Vancouver
Craig Pridemore State Senator, 49th Legislative District
Beth Quartarolo past President & CEO, Greater Vancouver Chamber of Commerce
Dr. Antonio Scarpelli Faculty Emeritus and member, past member of the Clark College Foundation Board
Sally Schaefer past member, Clark College Board of Trustees
Pat Sheaffer past CEO, Riverview Community Bank
Claude "Skeet" O'Connell Faculty Emeritus and member, Penguin Athletic Club Board
Elson Strahan President & CEO, Vancouver National Historic Reserve Trust
Gaydena Thompson Faculty Emeritus and member, Penguin Athletic Club board
Deb Wallace State Representative, 17th Legislative District
Ralph Willson Principal architect, LSW Architects

Clark's 75th anniversary celebration:  Our planning committee

A vibrant group of students, faculty and staff members are serving on the college's 75th anniversary planning committee.

Nancy Abel Production Printing
Kathy Chatfield eLearning
Kay Cooke Clark College Foundation

Narek Daniyelyan

Student Ambassador
Nancy Johnson Business Technology
May Jolly Clark College Bookstore
Jennifer Lea Business Programs
John Marshall Clark College Alumni Association Board
Barbara Miller Office of Instruction
Julian Nelson Foreign Languages
Cindi Olson Student Affairs
Tracy Reilly Kelly

Corporate and Continuing Education

Patti Serrano Business Administration
Ara Serjoie Clark College Foundation
Linda Tuve Accounting Services
Vanessa Watkins Admissions
Carrie Weikel-Delaplane Student Life & Multicultural Student Affairs

Community Events Manager Michelle Golder and Executive Director of Communications and Marketing Barbara Kerr serve as consultants to the planning committee.

Our Community Supporters

Generous support from the community has enabled Clark College to host members of the Penguin Nation and the greater community at free or low-cost events throughout the year.   Individuals and organizations that have already pledged their support include:


Platinum Sponsor Arnerich, Massena and Associates
Gold Sponsor The Columbian
Diamond Sponsors iQ Credit Union, Legacy Health System
and Bank of America
Other Contributions Moss Adams, Julia Bakery, Burgerville and Corwin Beverage Company
Carol Curtis and George Welsh


Pixel Shim
Pixel Shim