News Releases

September 17, 2010
For Immediate Release
For additional information: 
Barbara Kerr, APR
Executive Director of
Communications and Marketing
Telephone: 360-992-2921


Fall Focus:  Clark College 
Opens Its 2010-2011 Academic Year

The new academic year begins with strong enrollment 
and individual and institutional accomplishments


VANCOUVER, Wash. – On Monday, Sept. 20, Clark College will open the doors for its 2010-2011 academic year.  Continuing its strong enrollment, the college expects to welcome 16,000 students. Clark is also home to the largest Running Start program in the state.

Opening day comes one week after the college broke ground for phase one of its new Early Learning Center.  Work is scheduled to be completed in summer 2011.

New for Fall 2010 -- Mechatronics

The college is introducing mechatronics classes at Clark College at Columbia Tech Center.  This growing technical field of study deals with the integration of mechanical and electrical systems managed by control devices.  Mechatronics technicians troubleshoot, maintain and repair mechanical equipment controlled by electrical, electronic and computer systems.  The systems are increasingly used in a wide variety of manufacturing and related technical applications such as high technology manufacturing, and process control.  

Information about the program is available at Clark College at Columbia Tech Center is located at 18700 SE Mill Plain Blvd., Vancouver. 

People in the News

William Belden joined Clark College as Vice President of Student Affairs in August 2010 after serving 15 years at Green River Community College in Auburn, Washington.  While at Green River Belden worked in various capacities with the most recent being Dean of Student Services and Enrollment Management.  He has spent 20 years working in community colleges, 12 years in college administration. 

His statewide credits include service as the past president of the Washington Council for High School-College Relations and 10 years on their board of directors.  He serves on the Washington State Student Services Commission (WSSSC) and as their liaison to the Transfer Policy Group, Technology Committee, and Financial Aid Council.

Belden received a bachelor's degree in business administration from Eastern Washington University, a master's degree in student personnel administration from Western Washington University, and a certificate in career development from University of Washington.

Biology professor Anthony Chennault is the newest Clark faculty member to earn tenure at the college. Chennault was hired as a tenure-track biology instructor in spring quarter 2008.  He earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in physical education from the University of Puget Sound and a Master of Science degree in biology from Portland State University. Prior to joining Clark College, Chennault taught anatomy, physiology and related biology courses at Ashmead College and Portland State University. Tenure is awarded to faculty members who have exhibited professional excellence and outstanding abilities in their disciplines. 

Honors and Awards

On Sept. 8, the annual Exceptional Faculty and Exceptional Classified Staff awards were presented during fall orientation for faculty and staff.  

The 2010 Exceptional Classified Staff awards were given to Susan Maxwell, a research analyst in Planning & Effectiveness, and Peggy McClellan, a program support supervisor in Instruction.

The 2010 Exceptional Faculty honorees, who had been announced during Clark’s 2010 commencement ceremony, are Nadine Fattaleh, Professor of Chemistry; Dr. Anita Fisher, Professor of History; and Karen Swallow, English as a Second Language (ESL) Instructor.

In addition, Clark College President Robert K. Knight presented five presidential coins. The coins are awarded to faculty and staff members who provide exemplary service to Clark students, the college and the community.   The fall 2010 presidential coin recipients are:  Tina Barsotti, Professor of Engineering; Theresa Heaton, Executive Assistant to the Vice President, Administrative Services; Miles Jackson, Dean of Social Sciences & Fine Arts; Debbie Maurina, Loan Program Specialist, Financial Aid; and Pat McDonald, Senior Graphic Designer in Communications & Marketing.    

Additional honors include: