Exceptional Faculty Awards

The Clark College Exceptional Faculty Awards are presented annually to full-time and part-time faculty members. Nominations can be submitted by Clark College students, faculty, classified employees, administrators, alumni, Board members, and Foundation directors. Students are particularly encouraged to submit nominations.  

Full and part-time faculty members are eligible for the award -- this includes instructors, librarians, counselors, and department heads -- as long as they have not received the award in the past four years. Members of the Exceptional Faculty Awards Committee will not be eligible. See below for a list of past winners and current committee members.

Nominate a faculty member for 2020-2021

Congratulations to the 2019-2020 Exceptional Faculty Award Recipients!

2020 Exceptional Faculty Award Recipients

Clark College’s 2019-2020 Exceptional Faculty Award recipients are, clockwise from top left, Dr. Don Appert, Adam Coleman, Molly Lampros, Ken Luchini, Tom Stevenson, and Lauren Zavrel. Read more about the recipients.

Past Exceptional Faculty Award Recipients

Clark College is proud to honor the full-time and part-time faculty members who have received this prestigious award. Visit our archives to learn about past recipients.


Deena Godwin, Communication Studies 
Erin Staples, Health and Physical Education
Dr. Karl Bailey, Chemistry
Malcolm McCay, Economics
Nadine Fattaleh, Chemistry
Zachary Grant, Librarian


Bruce Elgort, Computer Technology
Sara Gallow, English as a Second Language 
Richard Inouye, Music
Dr. Kanchan Mathur, Mathematics
Don Wissusik, Addiction Counselor Education


Patricia A. Atkinson, Economics 
Dr. John Caruso, English
Becky Engel, American Sign Language
Dr. Nicholas Macias, Computer Science & Engineering
Brian McVay, Welding


Joseph Cavalli, History 
Dr. Kathleen Chatfield, Business Technology
Heather McAfee, Geography
Doug Mrazek, French


Exceptional Faculty Award Committee:

Karl Bailey/Chair
Earl Frederick
Layne Russell
Jim Wilkins-Luton
Lisa Gibert
Sara Gallow
Kushlani de Soyza


The awards are made possible through an endowed trust fund established by the Washington State Legislature and the Clark College Exceptional Faculty Endowment Fund, which was established in 1993. That fund provides recognition of exemplary work performance, positive impact on students, professional commitment, and other contributions to the college.