Graphic - Clark College News and Events

Clark College News and Events

November 9, 2009

For Immediate Release

For additional information: 

Barbara Kerr, APR
Executive Director of
Communications and Marketing Telephone:  360-992-2921



Clark College has earned honors in the annual award presentations
of the Portland Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA)
and District 7 of the National Council for Marketing & Public Relations (NCMPR)

VANCOUVER, Wash. – Clark College’s 75th anniversary celebration may be over, but the college is still in the “spotlight.” 

During the annual Spotlight Awards ceremony of the Portland Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA), held on Nov. 4, the college earned a Spotlight Award in the event or observance category for its 75th anniversary celebration.  

Clark 75th anniversary logoThe awards, described by one speaker as the “top communications award” in the region, are given annually for excellence.  Judges may choose to give no award, an award of merit, or the Spotlight Award, representing top honors. 

Regarding Clark’s 75th anniversary celebration, one judge wrote: “Very thorough, well thought out plan with multiple goals in mind that were clearly researched and exceeded.” 

Other 2009 Spotlight Award winners included Portland General Electric, Legacy Health, Providence Health and Services, and entries from eight of the region’s top public relations firms.  This year’s entries were judged by communications professionals in Philadelphia.

Cover of Clark College 75th anniversary commemorative bookAdditionally, Clark earned two awards of merit.  In the publications category, the college was honored for Voices & Dreams:  Celebrating Clark College’s Diamond Anniversary.  In the speech category, the college was honored for the 2009 State of the College address. 

Clark College was also honored during the annual awards ceremony of District 7 of the National Council for Marketing and Public Relations (NCMPR).  NCMPR is the association of communicators at two-year colleges. NCMPR District 7 includes colleges in Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington, and the Canadian provinces of Alberta, British Columbia, Saskatchewan and Yukon Territory. 

In the 2009 medallion competition, 158 entries were submitted and 66 awards were presented.  Judges could choose to give gold, silver, or bronze medallions or no awards. 

Cover of Clark's 2008 annual report

In a ceremony held on Oct. 22, Clark College won 10 awards in eight categories, including two categories where the college won both the gold and silver medallion awards. Clark earned gold medallions for Preserving the Past; Honoring the Present, the college’s 2008 annual report; Clark 24/7, the college newsletter; If You’re Happy and You Know It, a photograph of a Clark student; television advertisements in support of fall enrollment; and the college’s media relations efforts througCover of Clark College winter schedule 2009hout Clark’s yearlong 75th anniversary celebration. 


The college earned silver medallions for the 2008-2010 college catalog; A Moment in Time,a photo of Clark’s main campus; 75th anniversary commemorative clickers created for the college’s commencement ceremony; and television advertisements in support of the opening of the college’s newest teaching facility, Clark College at Columbia Tech Center. 

The college also earned a bronze medallion for its 2008-2009 class schedules. 



About the honorees


The PRSA Spotlight Award reflected the work done by Clark’s college-wide 75th anniversary planning committee.  The committee was chaired by Clark College Foundation Vice President of Development Ara Serjoie.  Members included Nancy Abel, Kathy Chatfield, Kay Cooke, Narek Daniyelyan, Michelle Golder, Nancy Johnson, May Jolly, Barbara Kerr, Jennifer Lea, John Marshall, Barbara Miller, Julian Nelson, Cindi Olson, Tracy Reilly Kelly, Patti Serrano, Linda Tuve, Vanessa Watkins, and Carrie Weikel-Delaplane.  The college’s 75th anniversary commemorative book was created by writer Tricia Jones, editor Barbara Kerr, and designer Pat McDonald.  

The NCMPR awards were presented for work done by Communications & Marketing department staff members Pat McDonald, senior graphic designer; Wei Zhuang, lead graphic designer; Jenny Shadley, graphic designer and photographer; Brian Scott, marketing director; Erica Schwenneker, communications specialist; and Barbara Kerr, executive director, in partnership with numerous individuals and departments across the college.  They include Kathy Mitchell of Registration; Joanne Savage and Peggy McClellan of Instruction; Heather King (formerly in Instruction); Dean Ray Korpi; Kay Cooke and the Clark College Foundation; and Clark College President Robert K. Knight. KeyFrame Productions, based in Vancouver, Wash., partnered with the college on the production of the television advertisements.

In the past six years, members of the Clark College Communications and Marketing department have won 46 regional and national awards for work done on behalf of the college. The awards have been presented in categories including annual report, class schedule, college catalog, events/observances, logos, media relations, newsletters, photography, nontraditional media, posters, promotional video or CD-ROM, publications, radio or television advertisements, speeches, and Web site.


Pixel Shim