News Releases

May 21, 2010
For Immediate Release
For additional information: 
Barbara Kerr, APR
Executive Director of
Communications and Marketing
Telephone: 360-992-2921


A “Most Distinguished” Chapter

The Clark College chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the honor society for two-year colleges,
earns international honors; the chapter will honor and induct members on May 24


VANCOUVER, Wash. – Competing against more than 400 chapters, Clark College’s chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society earned top honors during PTK’s 2010 International Convention in Orlando, Fla.

Advisor Deena Bisig and eight students from the Alpha Sigma Phi chapter attended the conference, where the chapter received five international awards.

  • Most Distinguished Chapter Member: Jacqy Lopez

  • Most Distinguished Regional Officer: Lorene Boyd

  • Most Distinguished Advisor: Deena Bisig

  • 1 of 25 International Scholarship Hallmark Awards

  • 1 of 25 International “Most Distinguished Chapter” awards

Earlier this year, Alpha Sigma Phi chapter was named “The Most Distinguished Chapter” in the Greater Northwest Region of Phi Theta Kappa.  That region includes Washington, Alaska, Idaho, Montana, and Canada).

The chapter’s award-winning year will culminate with a recognition ceremony and celebration on Monday, May 24.  Approximately 200 students will be recognized and inducted as new members.  The event, which is free and open to the public, will be held at 7 p.m. in the Gaiser Student Center on Clark’s main campus.  Clark College is located at 1933 Fort Vancouver Way, Vancouver.  Driving directions and parking maps are available at

Last year, the chapter implemented a "Phi Theta Kappa Mentor" recognition. New members are eligible to nominate one faculty or staff member who played a significant role in their success at Clark College. Last year, 30 members of the Clark College community were recognized. 

This year’s active chapter members include Lorene Boyd, Rebecca Zeff, Michael Gay, Tammy Warren, Katya Kavalueksaya, Jacqy Lopez, Fallon Hughes, Carolyn Cox, Christina Jensen, Sahmie Graham, Debbie Freuh, Wen Tang, Tabata Tvetan, Elizabeth Goldstein, Amanda Cummings, and Megeara Jarvis.

About the 2010 PTK International Convention honorees

Jacqy Lopez is currently serving as the chapter Officer-at-Large and has been instrumental in the fundraising and team coordination efforts for the Relay for Life for the American Cancer Society. A work-study student in Clark’s Teaching and Learning Center, Lopez will graduate in June and continue her studies at WSU Vancouver.

Lorene Boyd is currently serving as chapter President in addition to beginning her second term as the Greater Northwest Regional President. A single mother of two, Boyd works as a pharmacy technician while she completes her prerequisites in pharmacy studies. 

Deena Bisig, a Communication Studies instructor, has served as the chapter advisor for the past five years. 

About the Clark College PTK Chapter

During the past year, Alpha Sigma Phi has been diligent over the past academic year in fulfilling the honor society's mission. Their activities included:

  • Raising approximately $4000 for Relay for Life, $250 for Heifer International, and $200 for the Blood:Water Mission

  • Volunteering regularly at Habitat ReStore and the Children's Center

  • Hosting district and regional conferences

  • Picking up over 160 pounds of trash

  • Collecting 100 pounds of pop tabs for the Ronald McDonald House and serving meals there

  • Providing a record-breaking 197 complete Thanksgiving baskets to Clark College students

  • Donating books and time to multiple literacy campaigns

  • Hosting three academic discussions with video presentations of Jessica Jackley, Ray Suarez, and Ralph Nader

  • Providing approximately $2,000 worth of household goods to a family who lost everything in a fire

  • Participating in a SOLV beach clean-up along the Oregon coast

Information about Alpha Sigma Phi is available at

About Phi Theta Kappa

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in American higher education, with 1,250 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 2 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 100,000 students inducted annually. Membership is based primarily upon academic achievement. The organization offers a myriad of opportunities for scholarships, intellectual enrichment and personal development through programs based on the society's hallmarks of Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Fellowship.